Dreams that come true


Have you ever had dreams – and I mean, aspirations here – come true?

Have you been passionate about something so much, that there wasn’t anything that could come in your way of getting it?

Have you achieved this something and felt – not exhilaration – but a strange sense of calm and satisfaction at the thought that it’s all worked out to be how you’d imagined it?

Well, I have.

TWELVE years after having first read about it and having a glimmer of a desire appear in my heart – I’m finally finishing PGSEM from IIMB.

* * * * *

If you ask me, I don’t still know what about it appealed to me – that one morning in 1999, as I sat reading in The Indian Express, Cochin, about a new course offered by IIMB for software professionals.

Perhaps, it was the thought that it was management for “software” industry people – and I fancied myself to be always a mix of both. Perhaps because it was from IIM, in Bangalore – the only IIM, I thought was ever worth studying in. Perhaps because it was a part-time course, and I knew I was *aching* to work after graduation, so I would never opt for a full-time course.

Whatever it was, it was a dream. And dreams do comes true, I realize.

Poetically ;), I would say that the universe conspired to bring it all to a reality. I landed up in Bangalore for my first job, I found that though I loved working in the industry, I still sustained my desire for the MBA experience. My parents for their part, thought I was loony :-). (Sample this: Why, just why, would you want to spend the first 3 years of marriage – supposed to be the best years in a relationship – putting yourself and said spouse, in intense pressure? Do you even realize you’ll have to spend ALL your weekends for THREE years, attending lectures in college? How would you handle work – esp. because you have to spend half a day on Fridays, IN class – and then spend the rest of your week worrying about what you’re supposed to do on Friday and Saturday? What about the travel that you’re supposed to do as part of your work ? And last but not least – just HOW are you going to be able to come to Kerala or go for any trips?). Can’t blame them, yes?

However, as all parents are – they did end with that one line: “If it matters to you so much, well, best of luck”. And for my luck, I passed the exam, and the interview, and got a call in 2008.

The past 3 years has been incredible – looking back, an experience I wouldn’t trade for anything in the world. Nothing that I imagined about it would come close to what it was really like though. PGSEM has always been about the extremes – as every PGSEM-er will vouch: Intense pleasure and intense pain :D. But above all, for me, it’s been a journey – a  re-discovery of myself.

* * * * *

Very soon, there will be a moment, where my past and future will converge: A moment when a thought that was born 12 years ago will come face to face with its realization: the day that I get my graduation certificate – a piece of paper, that will be a testimonal for the learning, the effort, the friends made, and the time spent over the last 3 years.

*My* universe will be smiling at that moment :).

Dreams do come true, Corolla, United States
Source: TravelPod
13 thoughts on “Dreams that come true

  1. *sniff* I’m SO proud of you *sniff* 🙂 Loved loved loved this post. I’m going to bookmark this. Don’t ask me why!

    • @Visitor: Well, anyone who realizes that life can be quite the miracle, will remember to dream & I’m sure you would too :). *And* so, here’s wishing you just the very same!!

    • Aw, *blush*. Thank you my dear!! Well, the horror stories being behind me, I can now safely say, “I just *did* it, and I don’t know how anymore, but I’m mighty thrilled” 😉

  2. Wow..I can so very much relate to the first three lines of this post. Its strange, isn’t it, the feeling of being passionate about something, wanting it so badly that you are willing to walk any damn path to achieve it and when you eventually get there, nothing beats the magic!

    Congrats and goodluck for your future endeavors!

  3. The only thing that matters to most Indian IT ‘professionals’ is certificate (instead of education), money (instead of doing quality job), job security (instead of challenging entrepreneurship). No wonder India has become the Back Office Hub of the world and we are proud of it.

  4. Hi Shikha,

    I am going to join the course soon. And thanks to ur post I have started feeling awesome. Hey share some more stories..

Leave a Reply

